Pumpkin Toffee Cookies with Salted Caramel Glaze

IMG_3567So one day I get a text from Brandon, and all it says is this:
“Pumpkin Toffee Cookies with Salted Caramel Glaze”
punctuation and all. And then, my friends, it was game on.

Anyone who’s ever tried to make candies knows it’s not the easiest thing. I remember the first time I tried to make chocolate molds I was infuriated that it would not set up or even freeze, and apparently it’s because I added milk while melting it! Who knew? It’s just a temperamental process involving high heat, the right amount of heat, and the right amount of fat. So, vegan toffee and vegan caramel? Challenge accepted.

IMG_3506Clearly, I did it! I couldn’t believe I actually pulled it off because 1. I did not have a candy thermometer and 2. I am awful at baking, at to me candy-making is part of baking. I was nervous enough about the cookie part, let alone this science experiment with sugar and butter. Here’s the recipe I used for the toffee, and yes, I just used vegan substitutes! It set up beautifully, but I will tell you it never got hard and I think that’s because it never got hot enough. It got close, but just not close enough. You want it to get hard, really hard–if it doesn’t, it’s hard to break it into shards, and that’s what you want in the cookie batter.

Here’s the recipe for the salted caramel sauce. Again, totally amazing, and I messed it up slightly again. That’s also because I used coconut cream instead of heavy cream in a pinch… really I’m happy with how it came out considering this was hard to orchestrate. You definitely want a friend handy to assist. To make it a glaze, just add two cups of powdered sugar and two tablespoons of almond milk.

IMG_3515

Now this cookie batter I got the recipe from Two Peas, with these small changes:

3 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1 teaspoon ground nutmeg
1/4 teaspoon ground all-spice
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup Smart Balance Light, at room temperature
1 1/2 cups granulated sugar
1 cup canned pumpkin puree (not pumpkin pie filling)
1 flax egg (1 Tbsp flax seed meal with 3 Tbsp warm water)
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 1/2 cups vegan toffee bitsIMG_3519IMG_3511IMG_3521

Scoopin’ da cookies. IMG_3522IMG_3540

When caramel sauce becomes salted caramel glaze. IMG_3530IMG_3527IMG_3546IMG_3548

IMG_3559The cookies that came out best were the ones I smooshed down 3/4 of the way through baking. The puffy ones were still delicious, but I clearly wanted flat cookie-cookies, not puffs. I don’t know why my cookies always puff up–maybe you guys can explain it to me. IMG_3568IMG_3561IMG_3564IMG_3575

3 thoughts on “Pumpkin Toffee Cookies with Salted Caramel Glaze

  1. Pingback: Thanksgiving 2012 « Vegpocalypse Now

  2. Omit the baking powder and melt the “butter” for soft & chewy cookies!
    …I learned it from Alton Brown on an episode of Good Eats in high school.

Tell me your thoughts!

