Pumpkin Sage Fettuccine Alfredo

Now with chickenless strips! 😀

Granted when we made this it wasn’t fall yet, but I am always in  the mood for pumpkin. My friend Lindley and I have been making pumpkin muffins and pumpkins cranberry “scones,” all kinds of stuff. In fact, my next pumpkin-task is going to be creating pumpkin syrup for espressos. More on that as it develops!

This is the creamiest, unintentionally cheesiest pasta dish I have made ever in my life, let alone since going vegan. I’d made this last fall for Thanksgiving and added some mozzarella Daiya, which was great, but this recipe is so much better and creamier. Here’s last year’s:

anddddd this year’s:

I was pretty blown away by how well this recipe came out, and it’s so low-fat and nearly oil-free that I couldn’t wait to share it with you guys. This is going to kill at Thanksgiving.

Pumpkin Sage Alfredo Sauce

– 1 cup almond milk
– 1 cup canned pumpkin puree
– 1/3 cup nutritional yeast
– 1/4 cup finely sliced fresh sage leaves, or 3 tsp dried sage leaves
– 1 tsp salt
– 1 1/2 tablespoons vegan butter
– 1/2 tsp ground black pepper

This was a three pan meal for us because I was also sauteeing some Trader Joe’s chickenless strips to go in as well, because I like protein with my pasta dishes. A good add in might be to add some white beans into the sauce and puree everything together… Something to try later!

You want to get your fettuccine in a boiling pot because this sauce does not take long at all. We used a vegetable fettuccine–a whole extra serving of greens in them, so that was awesome. In a small saucepan on medium heat add all the ingredients and whisk together to combine well.

The sauce thickens as you let it sit, I probably kept mine on the heat stirring occasionally until the pasta had been drained. Put the pasta back in the pot, add the sauce and chickenless strips, and stir. Serve to the hungry children quickly.

2 thoughts on “Pumpkin Sage Fettuccine Alfredo

  1. Pingback: Fettuccine con Salsa de Champiñones y Setas (Mushrooms & Fungi Sauce) | To Cook With Love

Tell me your thoughts!

