Parfaits and Tofu Omelets, oh my!

I’m trying to get more into breakfasts, especially since they start your metabolism. The thing is, I just love lunch and dinner food SO much more. Why? Probably because they’re a little more versatile and there’s just so damn many of them. I’m not the kind of girl who can start the day with a fruit salad and be done with it… too Italian for that.

That’s what so great about omelets and parfaits–you’re able to personalize them!

Dane said the other day that he missed yogurt, and I’ve loved Silk’s soy vanilla yogurt for at least a year now. Picked some up and threw together some cute little parfaits for two the other morning.

Crunchy peanut butter on the bottom, layer of yogurt, cinnamon, dry oats, and bananas, another layer of yogurt and topped with more bananas and oats. I want to make these every day.

If you’ve never paired peanut butter with yogurt, you’re missing out. I NEVER would have considered such a thing until I saw my college suitemate Kara do it one day. Other delicious parfait combinations:

  • peanut butter, dark chocolate chips, and oats
  • raspberries, dark chocolate chips, and oats
  • granola, flax seed meal, and mixed berries

Now, for the omelets. I have been trying to nail vegan omelets ever since I fell in love with Veggie Galaxy‘s Tofu Egg’s Benedict, which seriously is still the best meal I’ve ever had at a restaurant. If you live in Boston, you need to head over there and get yourself elbow deep in rosemary fries and homemade pies.

Anyway, I finally, FINALLY came across a recipe that worked. Thank you again Isa Chandra–this recipe is from her book Vegan Brunch. GOTTA GET DAT.

Ingredients

  • 1 package silken tofu (if using soft tofu like I did, add a 1/4-1/3 cup of water to the blender as well. Trust me)
  • 2 tbsp minced garlic
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 tbsp nutritional yeast
  • 1 teaspoon salt (she recommends black salt for it’s sulfuric taste to make it JUST like eggs. Do it if you have it!)
  • 1/2 cup chickpea flour
  • 1 tbsp cornstarch or arrowroot flour

First, assemble your add-ins. We used spinach, black beans, red onion, jalapenos, and red pepper with some Vegan Gourmet jack cheese.

Next, add the tofu, garlic, yeast, oil, turmeric, and salt to the blender and puree until smooth. It’s going to be thick and dense, that’s just how it goes. Then, add the flour and cornstarch and puree again.

Heat a large skillet on medium-high heat and spray with cooking spray to prevent sticking. You want to do the omelets about 1/2 cup at a time and spread the batter into 6 inch circles, as evenly as you can manage. Make sure to fill in any holes!

See that gorgeous golden brown? You’ll know it’s ready to flip when the top is a dark yellow and no longer gooey. Flip it and start adding your fillings. Let it cook for about another 2-3 minutes and then fold in half.

Voila! Gorgeous, isn’t it? I am just so psyched that I finally know the SECRET! These were so delicious. Be careful making larger omelets though if you don’t have a big enough pan for flipping… you’ll get a huge, delicious mess!

Tell me your thoughts!

