Challah French Toast and Sausage Gravy with Biscuits

I want to apologize for these pictures ahead of time – I could have SWORN I got some good pictures of plates for this huge breakfast, but honestly we were in such a rush to get to Dark Knight Rises that we were chomping and running out the door–so I guess I’m not surprised that these were the only two. Still disappointed in myself, but hey: RECIPES!

The challah bread was the best I’ve ever used for French toast, and even the omnis were loving it–which is clearly my goal in life. This was my second time making the sausage gravy and biscuits, which I’d never eaten before going vegan, and it. was. so. delicious. I don’t even LIKE sausage! Or, “sausage.”

Was this a healthy meal? No way, man. But it was a special occasion and there are few things I love more than buying a bunch of food and cooking for a bunch of people. The boys (Dane and Brandon) and I were going to see Dark Knight Rises at 11:30 AM with our friends Dave, Katie, Adam, and KB, so we had a good amount of people to serve. I knew I wanted to make my French toast for everybody, but definitely thought we needed something savory as well. This was probably because I was afraid if I didn’t have plenty of food, someone would brings eggs. Or bacon :/

Thankfully, no one did! I’m really kicking myself now for not getting more pictures, but I was up at 8:30 to start the biscuits and just didn’t have that extra pair of hands for the camera. 😦 I’m sorry!

Star ingredients: Trader Joe’s Soyrizo and Trader Joe’s Challah Bread. 

Uhm, it’s the best bread in the whole world. It’s lightly sweet and so soft, but sturdy. STURDY is important with vegan French toast.

Challah French Toast

  • 1 challah loaf from Trader Joe’s, cut into 14 pieces (yes, I cooked the ends too!)
  • 1 1/2 c vegan milk (go up to two if the bananas are big//the batter is too thick)
  • 2 whole bananas (if you want less banana flavor, use one banana and add a flax egg)
  •  1 tbsp vanilla
  • pinch of salt
  • 1 tbsp ground cinnamon
  • Smart Balance Light, or Earth Balance, or Blue Bonnet Light (no palm oil!)

Set your griddle to 350 degrees if you have one. I used my biggest pan and kept it at medium heat. Put all ingredients into a blender until completely smooth. Coat the bread on both sides, but make sure to remove the excess batter from the slice before cooking.

Add oil to surface (I literally spread a thin bit of the butter on the slices), and place the coated bread down to cook immediately after the batter has been applied. You can tell by color when it’s done and ready to flip – I’d give a time estimate, but it’s just instinct to me from cooking French toast at work every day!

__________________________________________________________________

Vegan Sausage Gravy with Biscuits

(This is a double recipe to make the amount in the picture. For 2-4 people, half this recipe will be perfect)

for the biscuits:

  • 4 c flour (I did 2 whole wheat, 2 all-purpose)
  • 2 tbsp baking powder
  • 2 tsp salt
  • 2 tbsp vegan cane sugar
  • 2/3 c of vegetable shortening or vegan butter, cold (I used Smart Balance Light)
  • 2 c vegan milk

for the gravy:

  • 2 packages Trader Joe’s Soyrizo
  • 1/2 c flour
  • 3 1/2 c vegan milk
  • salt and pepper to taste

Start with the biscuits–mix all the dry ingredients together in a large bowl. Cut the butter or shortening into it and mix thoroughly (I used my hands) until it’s a coarse, well-incorporated crumbly mix. I SUGGEST a food processor if you have a big one–I still need to invest, but my hands worked fine. you just need to make sure you’re getting all the chunks of butter. Then, add the milk a little at a time until the dough pulls away from the sides of the bowl.

On a floured surface, roll out the dough about 3/4″ thick. no need to be precise, but know the thicker you roll it out, the bigger they’ll be. Once you have a rectangle of rolled dough, wrap it in cling wrap and let it chill in the fridge for 30 minutes.

Preheat the oven to 425. After the chill time, take out the dough and cut it with a floured glass into circles. Put the circles on an ungreased baking sheet. I kept rekneading and rolling out the dough extras so I had as many biscuits as possible. They’ll need about 10-12 minutes in the oven, but watch them.  Basically when they begin to brown, they’re ready to come out. They rise a lot!

For the sausage gravy, heat a large skillet on medium heat with a dash of olive oil. Get the soyrizo into the skillet and break it up well with a wooden spoon. Let the sausage really start to brown before adding the flour and milk. Stir everything around really well to incorporate and prevent clumps of flour. Add salt and pepper to taste and let cook for another 2-3 minutes, while the gravy thickens.

It was a FEAST!

Tell me your thoughts!

