Aloo Gobi with Buckwheat Soba Stirfry

It’s been too long since I’ve posted! I’m sorry. Fourth of July was far too long ago. I have plenty to post up though, starting with this! Who loves Indian food? Well, probably everyone should but god damn do I love Aloo Gobi. That was the star of this show. The Buckwheat Soba Stirfry with Mandarin “Chik’n” was just something extra we were craving. Hard.

So, I’d never made aloo gobi before! Cauliflower, potatoes… damn damn damn this was fantastic. I keep turmeric and the rest of the needed spices in my cabinet, but I did not have any garam masala. This was delicious without, but that is the traditional spice for this dish, so I’ll be investing in it for next time. I adapted this recipe from allrecipes, which honestly I’m a big fan of.

My recipe’s a little different because I used more food and cut everything smaller. Why? Well, I had a lot of food to work with and the pans we work with at my house aren’t as big as I’d like them to be, so I wanted to make sure the potatoes really cooked through.

Aloo Gobi Ingredients:

  • 2 tbsp coconut oil
  • 1 1/2 tsp cumin seeds, or 2 tsp cumin powder if that’s what you have
  • 3 tsp minced garlic
  • 2 tsp minced ginger or ginger paste (I processed my ginger with the garlic)
  • 3 medium Russet potatoes or 5 medium redskin, cubed (peel if you desire)
  • 1 tsp turmeric
  • 1 tsp garam masala
  • 1 serrano or chile pepper
  • 1 head of cauliflower

Get your veggies chopped–I clearly did mine pretty small. Next, heat a saucepan or skillet on medium heat, adding the coconut oil and the pepper. I used a dried chile pepper split down the middle. Let that get nice and hot. Add the cumin seeds if you have the seeds; if not, just add the garlic and ginger.

Add the seasoning: turmeric, cumin, a little salt, and the masala if you have it. Mix well, add the potatoes, and mix to coat the potatoes. Cover and continue cooking the potatoes for 7 minutes, stirring occasionally. (note: if you’re going to make these two dishes together, now would be a good time to start heating your water for the soba noodles)

Add the cauliflower florets, stir to coat, lower the heat, and cover. Stir everything up occasionally until everything’s nice and tender–about ten minutes.

Buckwheat Soba Stirfry with Mandarin “Chik’n” Ingredients:

  • 1 package Gardein brand mandarin chik’n with sauce
  • 1 package buckwheat soba noodles
  • 1 small head of broccoli
  • 1 white onion
  • 1 medium-sized green bell pepper
  • 1 cup fresh bean sprouts
  • 1 1/2 tbsp coconut oil
  • 3 tbsp hoisin sauce
  • 1/3 cup orange juice
  • 1 tbsp minced garlic
  • 1 can of mandarin orange slices
  • chopped green onions to top, if desired

Get a pot of water to boil for the soba noodles. Chop your veggies thinly, with medium to small florets of the broccoli. Heat a big skillet on medium and cook the Gardein as the package instructs. When it begins to thaw in the pan, add the oil and veggies.

Now, the Gardein comes with a packet of sauce, and you’re going to use it. It’s delicious. However, it won’t be enough! So now, add the Gardein sauce to the veggies and chik’n and then also add the minced garlic, hoisin sauce, mandarin oranges, and orange juice. Stir to combine and coat and cook until the sauce begins to reduce. I like to get my chik’n a little crispy in the pan.

Remove from the heat, top the soba noodles with the stir fry, and serve with the aloo gobi.

Tell me your thoughts!

