Vegan Pizza Day 2012

Holidays are awesome because they’re unifying, and vegan pizza day was no different. Seriously, who doesn’t love pizza? Pizza is basically my splurge food that I cannot deny. My personal favorite way to eat pizza? As cold leftovers, and I mean that sincerely.

Vegan Pizza Day was yesterday, which is when this feast occurred. I’ve been working ever since then so I haven’t been able to post about it! Dane and I made two kinds: a Veggie Medley and a Caramelize Onion with Butternut Squash.

I want to personally thank Vegan Gourmet from Follow Your Heart for being the best cheese in the world. For the Veggie Medley we used the cheddar and Monterrey jack flavors, and the fancy Caramelized Onion one just got the jack.

Before going in:

A fail-proof whole wheat crust I always go for is the following:

  • 1 (.25 ounce) package active dry yeast
  • 1 teaspoon sugar
  • 1 cup warm water (110 degrees F/45 degrees C)
  • 2 1/2 cups bread flour
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 teaspoon salt

Dissolve yeast and sugar in warm water. Let stand until creamy, about 10 minutes, then stir in flour, salt and oil. Beat until smooth. Let rest for 5 minutes. I got that simple recipe from allrecipes.com years ago and it’s never steered me wrong. Or, you could buy some uncooked whole wheat dough from your local grocer.

Before the oven: Caramelized Onion and Butternut Squash pizza:

I roasted the butternut squash and then pureed it to use as a sauce. I spread it evenly over the crust and then topped it with the vegan jack cheese and caramelized onions. It was a goddamn hit.

I had them in a 350 degree oven for about 20 minutes.

We obviously like to put as many vegetables on our pizzas as we possibly can.

What kinds of pizzas did you guys eat/make for pizza day??

7 thoughts on “Vegan Pizza Day 2012

  1. Pingback: Roasted Butternut Squash Calzones | The Hearty Herbivore

  2. Pingback: Pizza Night :) « The Green Vegan

Tell me your thoughts!

