Cream Cheese Glazed Carrot Cake Cupcakes

Every year for my birthday I would ask my mum to make me a carrot cake, because it was my absolute favorite. Now, my mum is an amazing cook, and a great baker, but she absolutely abhors baking. I don’t really blame her–I’m cursed with loving baked goods and always WANTING to bake, but I am so awful at it. Like honestly, I just… I can’t bake. When I bake and something comes out well, let alone right, it’s actually kind of a miracle.

But that’s why this cake is so amazing–not even I can screw it up.

This recipe first came to me in the form on Hell Yeah It’s Vegan’s Classic Carrot Cake. I made it for the past two years on my birthday and it’s come out amazing–in fact, both years all the omnivores wanted to eat my cake and wanted the recipe so badly that the animal-ingredient cake my mum would by would be completely ignored. It is just the most moist, flavorful, spicy cake that exists.

Here’s an idea of what the cake version looks like:

Unf. Even though the icing always gets screwed up, no matter what I do, well, it still TASTES delicious. This time around I gave up on trying to get that nice, thick frosting that I always crave so much to make a healthier version of this cake. I’ve made it in cupcake version before last Halloween and they were a hit. I’m not kidding you or bragging or anything, but for real this recipe never fails and no I have made it oil-free.

This recipe will make either two 9″ stackable round cakes or 16 cupcakes, exactly. I was going to make a double batch to bring some in for my coworkers and everyone at my internship, but I didn’t have enough muffin tins for that. Next time!

Cake

  • 2 1/3 c whole wheat flour
  • 2 1/3 c whole wheat flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1½ tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp allspice
  • ½ tsp salt
  • 6 tbsp flax seed meal
  • 3/4 c warm water
  • 1 c sugar
  • 1 c Lighter Bake
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 2 c shredded carrots
  • ½ c walnuts, chopped (optional)
  • ½ c golden raisins (optional)
Frosting/Glaze
  • 8 oz vegan cream cheese
  • ¼ c margarine, softened
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 2 c powdered sugar

I only use a cup of sugar instead of the original cup and a half because it’s just unneeded–no one’s ever complained! I like to grate the carrots first or ahead of time so the oven’s not sitting there waiting for me. After that’s done, get the oven to 350 and mix the flax seed meal with the water. Make sure it’s well-mixed and then pop it in the fridge for about 5 minutes to set up. During that time, mix all the dry ingredients together well.

Curious Kong the kitty thought maybe he would like carrot cake.

Brandon and I were actually really proud of how brave he was being yesterday because normally he is just the biggest wuss.

Mix the wet ingredients in a separate bowl and then slowly but thoroughly combine. If you want this to be nut-free, omit the walnuts. I put them in because hell yes walnuts. Same with the golden raisins–for the cupcakes it can make sense to leave these out because they can be crowding, but if you’re making the cake you should definitely, 100% get both of these in there.

For a cake, bake for close to 20 minutes–these cupcakes only took about 14. After i just let them cool while I made dinner.

The frosting is, as aforementioned, too stressful for me. I went into it this time knowing I just wanted to glaze them. Apparently the trick to the thick frosting is to not over beat but basically to combine the butter and cream cheese and then add the powdered sugar like half a cup at a time. Yeah, I do this every time and it never works. Ever. So, glaze it is. Want to know why the glaze is actually a better idea for these cupcakes? Less calories and it goes a longer way. I used maybe a 12th of the amount of glaze I had from this recipe (which is normally the amount I use for the whole cake), and I put the rest in the freezer for next time.

I always eat my cupcakes like that ^ — as a sandwich. I actually had one of these for breakfast. Only 192 calories 🙂 They’re my absolute favorite thing ever.

Tell me your thoughts!

