5-Minute Pancakes–Only 85 Calories Each.

I was never really a breakfast girl, especially since I like to sleep in as late as I can get away with before getting ready for whatever I need to do. Because of this, I wouldn’t really leave time for breakfast, nor would my body be awake enough to be appetized by such a thing. But I LOVE breakfast food, that’s for sure!
Pancakes are something I haven’t ever really gotten the  hang of. My issue, I think, was always that it’s technically baking and measuring out ingredients takes me a long time, so I would get impatient and try to cook them on heat that was too high. That’s really just about the worst idea ever with breads.
These were wicked easy and wicked fast, and made just the perfect amount for Dane and I to share before he took off to work. It can also easily be doubled or tripled if you’re making a weekend feast in your house!
  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 2 tablespoons baking powder
  • 1 tablespoon natural cane sugar (Florida Crystals)
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup almond milk
  • 2 tablespoons fruit puree (unsweetened applesauce or Sunsweet Lighter Bake is what I go for!)

515 calories for the whole recipe! It made six, so Dane and I split them three and three. Well, I gave him one of mine basically because I started to get full, but who’s counting. Some optional add-ins: shredded carrots, golden raisins, and chopped walnuts for Carrot Cake Pancakes, cinnamon, brown sugar, and a little melted butter for Cinnamon Roll Pancakes. Look out for this this weekend! I’ll show you how to swirl it in 🙂

Mix everything together until well-combined and use an ice cream scoop to get them in a medium-heat skillet. I had to use the back of the scoop to make the pancake a thinner circle because the batter is really thick. After that, wait until you see the little bubbles start on top, and flip!

We topped ours with a little vegan margarine and maple syrup–going for tradition, I suppose! They were so thick and fluffy.

Someday I’ll get some really attractive rectangle and square plates. I count the days.

Tell me your thoughts!

