Summer Grillin’ – Portobello Mushroom Burgers

I’ve never eaten a portobello burger before making these, let alone made them. However, it’s summer and I love mushrooms so the last time we were at the Dekalb Farmers Market stocking up was before Brandon’s dad came and I knew I wanted to give these a try. Brandon’s dad is an oil-free vegan due to heart issues, so that posed as a challenge when cooking this week.

What did I make while he was here? The oil-free version of my favorite Lentil Balls with Spaghetti and Zucchini, the Sweet Potato White Bean Burgers (recipe to come! adapted from lunchboxbunch), Mango Salsa with red onions, roasted red peppers, and jalapenos, Quinoa Stuffed Green Peppers… I think it all went very well. Though, not as well as this awesome cookout!

None of the boys had tried portobello burgers, either. Dane actually wasn’t even sure he liked mushrooms until I roasted some last week. (Two weeks ago? Whoa time is flying down here) Anyway, I had to sort of come up with my own marinade for these because literally every recipe I looked up required at lest 1/2 cup of oil… Which was really not acceptable. Here’s what I used for my marinade:

Ingredients: (enough for 6 portobello caps, and I saved it for future use. It’s also a delicious dressing!)

  • 3 cups red wine vinegar
  • 2 tbsp minced garlic, with liquid
  • the juice of 1/2 fresh lemon
  • 5 tbsp whole grain mustard
  • 2 tbsp Sriracha
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp pepper
  • 1 tbsp agave nectar

Whisk it all together and let the mushrooms soak in it for at least three hours, flipping over once for even coating. When they’re ready to go on the grill, save the marinade in an empty jar in the fridge for future use.

I dolled these up like regular burgers–ketchup, mustard, red onion, tomatoes, romaine. And, of course, Vegan Gourmet for Dane and I. I think we’re almost done with it! It’s so delicious and I barely ever buy it, so when we have it I put it on everything.

Next step, get everything on the grill. I set it to medium heat because I’d never cooked them before. The corn on the cobb went on first, because I like to grill them in their husks (silk removed!). They need about 6-8 minutes on each side for thorough cooking on the top shelf, where ours was. If they’re the star of your grill show and they’re right on the burners, cut that time in half. We also grilledup some SmartDogs, because hell yes SmartDogs.

Our tablescape, which makes me laugh because it’s so cute. Not pictured: all the booze we drank. We each had our own bread–mine is multigrain thin bread for lower calories, high protein and high fiber, Dane had normal multigrain, and Brandon and his dad used the oil-free Ezekiel 7-grain bread.

Happy grilling! We’re going to be out here a LOT this summer, that’s for sure.

One thought on “Summer Grillin’ – Portobello Mushroom Burgers

  1. Pingback: Portobello TVP Tacos « Vegpocalypse Now

Tell me your thoughts!

