Cream-less Broccoli Soup

Poor Dane is sick 😦 There is nothing worse than being sick in the summer, am I right? I’ve been having a rough time with allergies since moving to Georgia, which hasn’t been an issue for me since I was like twelve. Fortunately, pills work on me and one in the morning when I get to my internship makes my life a lot easier. Dane, however, was raised very holistically and just have to tough it out. I wonder if any of the teas at work (Teavana) are good for congestion?

Regardless, I had a head of broccoli in the fridge that needed to be used–I’d planned to roast it because that’s certainly my favorite way to eat broccoli, but I was short on other vegetables to roast with it besides potatoes. Needless to say, it’s almost grocery day! Hooray!

So, despite it being summer, I made my baby some soup and it really helped his throat. I just wish I’d made a triple batch so he could eat it all day today too.

Ingredients:

  • one white onion, diced
  • 1 tsp olive oil
  • 4 cups of water, or 3 cups of water and 1 cup nondairy milk*
  • 2 large redskin potatoes, cut into 1″ pieces
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 1 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp black pepper
  • 1 head of broccoli, chopped into florets. I also used the stems as well because I always use the full stock. Nothing wasted!
  • 1/2 cup nutritional yeast
  • shredded vegan cheese of your choice (optional)

In a medium saucepan, add the olive oil and diced onions. Allow to cook on medium heat until translucent. Then, add the water, potatoes, and all the spices. Bring water to a boil.

Reduce heat back to medium and add broccoli florets. Stir well to distribute so they all cook evenly. Continue cooking until the florets and potatoes are completely fork-tender.

Put everything in a blender with nutritional yeast and liquefy. We topped it with some Vegan Gourmet Jack cheese and a little Sriracha. The bread is a cinnaman PBR beer bread–sounds odd with broccoli, but you’d be surprised at how good it was together!

*if you opt for the 3 cups water/1 cup nondairy milk option, only add the water at this step and boil. Once the broccoli potatoes are fork-tender, add the milk to the blender with everything.

The cayenne in it was just hot enough to help with the congestion, without the Sriracha. Soup used to be exclusively sick food to me, but I crave broccoli soup all the time. What are your favorite soups, to make or to eat?

Tell me your thoughts!

