Thai Salad with Jicama and Bean Sprouts

Today at my internship the whole office was invited out to Smashburger for lunch, which was very sweet of them. Nice company! I think only two of us got salads, and they were huge! The bigger the better for me with salads, you know what I mean? I absolutely love them. I got the Harvest with no blue cheese, of course. It is a shame I couldn’t try their Black Bean Veggie Burger; I called earlier in the day and it contains eggs. It’s really too bad!

I left them a message saying they should really consider removing the eggs from their recipe so that their customer-base will widen; remember, vegetarians will eat vegan food but vegans will not eat vegetarian food.

Anyway, even though the salad was huge and delicious and I absolutely devoured so many rosemary sweet potato fries, I am starving. What else is new? All i can think about is making another one of these babies at home:

Image

Truthfully, I’ve been making a lot of Thai-inspired salads since my concoction of this peanut sauce, like this quinoa salad with zucchini and red cabbage, that honestly rocks my world.

Thai Peanut Dressing

  • 2 tbsp Trader Joe’s Gyoza Dipping Sauce
  • 2 tsp Sriracha
  • 2 tbsp apple cider vinegar
  • 1.5 tbsp chunky peanut butter

Get it in the food processor—enough for two big salads, or dipping fresh veggies in. Craving. Clearly, I made a full bottle. to make a full bottle, triple the recipe but only double the peanut butter.

The salad in the picture above lacks quinoa because I was waiting for a batch to cook, but has red cabbage, cucumbers, bean sprouts, carrots, and jicama, which is definitely the star of the show. Jicama just goes so deliciously with peanut sauces. If you’ve never had jicama, it’s like a very sweet root. I like to just cut it up and eat it plain for a snack!

One thought on “Thai Salad with Jicama and Bean Sprouts

  1. Pingback: Sprout salad! | The Raw Way of Life

Tell me your thoughts!

