Broccoli and Cauliflower Frittata

This recipe was really an accident. I was trying like hell to make tofu eggs, like, replicate the ones I’d fallen in love with at Veggie Galaxy in Cambridge, and no one in the entire universe ever told me that when you heat silken tofu is literally disintegrates. Seriously?! I was HORRIFIED when it happened. Absolutely never in a thousand years would I guess that to happen.

Well anyway, I got really frustrated once I found that out for several reasons. 1, I never use silken tofu–never make desserts with it, nothing. This was literally my first experience with it. 2, I now had silken tofu that tasted like eggs. So, what was the solution? Make a frittata. I did this the silken tofu but you shouldn’t–use firm or extra firm. Trust me.

Broccoli Frittata

  • 1 block Firm or Extra Firm Tofu
  • 1/4-1/2 tsp. Salt
  • 1/4 tsp. Turmeric
  • 1/4 tsp. Garlic Powder
  • 1/4 tsp. Black Pepper
  • 1/4 cup Nutritional Yeast
  • 1/3 White Onion, diced
  • 1/2 cup Broccoli Florets
  • 1/2 cup Cauliflower Florets
  • 1 tbsp Coconut Oil
  • 1 tbsp Garlic, minced 
Preheat oven to 350. In a blender, add tofu through pepper and blend until totally smooth.

It even looked and smelled scrambled egg-y. I was kind of amazed. Next, add the oil and minced garlic to a medium skillet (that is able to go in the oven!) on medium heat. Add onions, cauliflower, and broccoli and saute until onions are translucent, making sure the skillet seems really coated in the oil. Add tofu egg mixture.  Allow to cook on stovetop for about three minutes.

Put entire skillet into oven and bake for about 10 minutes. You’ll know it’s done when the tofu is no longer gooey on the top.

This would be amazing with jalapenos, black beans, chili powder, and diced tomatoes instead of the florets. What do you think? This is wicked adaptable–what flavor combo would you use?

2 thoughts on “Broccoli and Cauliflower Frittata

Tell me your thoughts!

